MindwellU renewed for another year for MSES members

Join more than 140 of your BC Cancer medical staff colleagues who have already participated in the online mindfulness training.  BC Cancer colleagues have reported that participation has improved their mental health, helped manage stress and decreased conflicts at work. The mindfulness training is proven by university researchers to significantly increase:

  • Resilience & Mental Health

  • Self-care

  • Engagement & Focus

  • Performance & Leadership

  • Communication & Team Building 


Training is comprised of short and sharp videos, podcasts, emails and texts and each person may take the training with a buddy of their choice. Participants can sign up for 30, 60 or 90 days.  The MindwellU 30-day challenge is free for MSES members.  Learn more about MindwellU [here] and register [here].  

Taking Care of Business at the Third Annual General Meeting

A big thank you to the more than 100 members who joined us for the BC Cancer Medical Staff Engagement Society's third Annual General Meeting and dinner on November 21st, the eve of the BC Cancer Summit. 

The evening's business included formalizing the new Medical and Dental Staff Association (MDSA), electing the MSES and MDSA Board of Directors, and presentations from a number of BC Cancer Leaders including Dr. Kim Chi, Chief Medical Officer, Heather Findlay, Chief Operations Officer, and Dr. Frances Wong, VP Medical Affairs and Medical Information.  

The MSES/MDSA Board includes: Drs. Tamara Shenkier, President; Paris Ingledew, Vice President; Andrew McFadden, Treasurer; and Andrea Pollock, Allison Ye and Thaoe Nguyen, Directors-at-Large.

2018 AGM & Annual Dinner Highlights

More than 100 BC Cancer medical staff members turned out for the MSES AGM dinner, and our inaugural Peer Recognition Awards on November 22, 2018.  


The event – held on the eve of the BC Cancer Summit -- drew together colleagues from across the province and from all disciplines. Some of the highlights of the evening included:

  • An address from PHSA and BC Cancer leaders Malcolm Moore, Frances Wong, and Georgene Miller 

  • An overview of MSES Engagement Initiatives including presentations from three project leaders

  • Presentations of our inaugural Peer Recognition Awards to nine BC Cancer colleagues


Additionally, Andra Krauze was elected to the MSES Board of Directors, as a Director-at-Large, joining existing executives Tamara Shenkier, President; Paris Ann Ingledew, Vice President; Andrew McFadden, Treasurer, and Dean Kolodziejczyk, Director-at-Large.


“Increasing communication and collaboration between medical staff is a strategic priority for MSES,” Tamara explains. “So, it was particularly rewarding to look around the room at colleagues catching up with peers they hadn’t seen in some time, and with others they had only known through email.”  


If you would like to volunteer on one of the committees, please contact bccamses@facilityengagement.ca.

2018 Peer Recognition Award recipients


The inaugural BC Cancer MSES Peer Recognition Awards were presented on November 22 at the Society’s AGM Dinner.  


Nearly 30 nominations were received for individuals representing all disciplines and regions across BC. The nine 2018 award recipients are:


Advocate Award

Cara Fitzgerald, Medical Oncologist, Victoria


Collaborator Award

Kai Luecke, Medical Oncologist, Surrey/Prince George

Jennifer Goulart, Radiation Oncologist, Victoria


Communicator Award

Scott Tyldesley, Radiation Oncologist, Vancouver  


Leader Award

Francois Bachand, Radiation Oncologist, Kelowna

Stacy Miller, Radiation Oncologist and Regional Medical Director, Prince George


Medical Expert Award

Malcolm Hayes, Pathologist, Vancouver


Professional Award

Rose-Marie Coschizza, GPO Medical Oncology, Vancouver



Jenny Ko, Medical Oncologist, Abbotsford


“On behalf of the Awards Committee, I thank all of the nominators who made our job so difficult!” says Dean Kolodziejczyk, Award Committee Co-Chair. “All of the nominations were compelling and inspirational, and I feel honoured to work among the individuals nominated.” 


Read more about the award categories.